DOI: 10.24425/academiaPAS.2022.143454



PAS Committee for Spatial Economy and Regional Planning

The Committee for Spatial Economy and Regional Planning, established in 1958, is one of the task-force committees operating in affiliation with the Presidium of the Polish Academy of Sciences (PAS).

The role of the Committee is to integrate the scholarly community and practitioners interested in issues related to spatial management in Poland. The Committee's tasks include carrying out scientific research and providing consultancy on regional and national spatial development policy, as well as institutional and legal aspects of integrated planning in functional and spatial systems at the European, national, and regional levels. The Committee works closely with the central and local government authorities in such areas as research priorities and directions of spatial management. The Committee also issues opinions on strategic documents in the field of regional and spatial policy and participates in efforts to improve the methodology of scientific disciplines related to spatial planning. It takes steps to fully explore the opportunities created by the separation of such scientific disciplines as socio-economic geography, spatial management, architecture, and urban planning. At the same time, the Committee also maintains a strongly interdisciplinary approach.

In recent years, the Committee has been actively involved in the debate on the key problems in Poland's regional and spatial policy. It has published reports on these issues and drafted position statements. These pertained to such topics as: (a) chaos in spatial planning; (b) the Strategic Location Study of the Solidarity Transport Hub (STH) (2020); (c) the amendment to Poland's "Act on the Principles of Development Policy and Certain Other Acts" (2019); (d) the abolition of the National Spatial Development Concept and the need for the institutional integration of the development management system (2020); (e) guidelines for the regulation of the General Plan and its role in the work on a reform of the spatial planning system in Poland (2021); (f) spatial aspects of the National Recovery and Resilience Plan (2021); and (g) the draft CAP Strategic Plan in 2021–2027 (2021). In July 2022, together with the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, the Committee held a meeting on the territorial aspect of development policy in the times of crisis and recovery, based on Ukraine's experience.

The Committee's organizational structure is adapted to the professional nature of the studies it conducts and the scientific expert opinions it issues. In the 2019–2022 term, the Committee has the following task forces: the Task Force for Integrated Development Policy of Poland and Europe (chaired by Prof. Jacek Zaucha), the Task Force for Rural Areas (chaired by Prof. Wioletta Kamińska), the Task Force for Urban and Metropolitan Areas (chaired by Prof. Piotr Lorens), the Task Force for Personnel Training in Space Management (chaired by Prof. Tadeusz Kudłacz), and the Task Force for Large-Scale Development Projects (chaired by Prof. Tomasz Komornicki). Since May 2021, there has also been an *ad hoc* Task Force for Legal and Urban Planning, chaired by Maciej Nowak, PhD, DSc. The Committee publishes a series of monographs entitled *Studia KPZK PAN* and *Biuletyn KPZK: Policy Briefs* are issued in response to specific needs. These publications are available at kpzk.pan.pl.

The following professors have served as chairs of the Committee: **Stanisław Leszczycki** (1958–1983), **Kazimierz Dziewoński** (1984–1989), **Ryszard Domański** (1990–1998), **Jerzy Kołodziejski** (1999–2001), and **Tadeusz Markowski** (2001–2018). Since 2019, the Committee has been chaired by Prof. **Tomasz Komornicki**, with **Paulina Legutko-Kobus**, PhD, serving as its scientific secretary (since 2015).

Tomasz Komornicki, Paulina Legutko-Kobus





Plenary meeting of the PAS Committee for Spatial Economy and Regional Planning, organized jointly with the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, entitled "Territorial Dimension of Development Policy in Times of Crisis and Reconstruction: The Experience of Ukraine," 7 July 2022



The Committee's Presidium in the 2019–2022 term is composed of:

Prof. **Paweł Churski** (deputy chairman) **Konrad Czapiewski**, PhD, DSc

Prof. **Tomasz Komornicki** (chairman)

Prof. **Andrzej Klasik, Paulina Legutko-Kobus**, PhD

(scientific secretary)

Prof. Tadeusz Markowski (deputy chairman) Maciej Nowak, PhD, DSc Aleksandra Nowakowska, PhD, DSc Prof. Jacek Szlachta (deputy chairman) and Prof. Janusz Zaleski