CHRONICLE

8th Special Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meeting

At the Eighth Special Consultative Meeting (Paris, September 20—22, 1988) representatives of the 20 Consultative Parties to the Antarctic Treaty admitted the Consultative Party status for Sweden and Spain.

To achieve consultative status each of these countries demostrates its interest in Antarctica by conduction substantial scientific research activity there, such as the establishment of a scientific station or dispatch a scientific expedition". (Antarctic Treaty; Article IX, paragraph 2).

Spain acceded to the Antarctic Treaty in accordance with Article XII on March 31, 1982 and Sweden on April 24, 1984.

On January 16, 1988 Sweden established the new research station *Svea* (after the *Snow Hill* Station at Graham Land) in Heimefrontfiella, Queen Maud Land (lat. 74°35′ S, long. 11°13′ W; 1.250 m a.s.l.), which accommodates 8 people. The launched scientific program includes climatology, glaciology, glacial geomorphology, geology, oceanography and marine biology. It should be added that since September 1988 Sweden is also full member of SCAR (Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research).

During the two Antarctic expeditions which took place in 1986—87 and 1987—88 austral summers Spain carried out research programs in glaciology, oceanography, marine biology and geology. At the beginning of January 1988 Spain established the scientific station *Juan Carlos I* (lat. 62°40′ S, long. 60°20′ W) on Livingston Island (South Bay) in South Shetland Islands archipelago, which can accommodate 12 people.

Both countries can now participate in the deliberations, recommendations, and decisions of the Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meetings. A recommendation to the Antarctic Treaty requires unanimous approval by all voting representatives, but is does not enter into force untill all the governments of the Consultative Parties ratify it.

Sweden and Spain are now the ninth and tenth countries to gain consultative status since the Antarctic Treaty was signed by 12 countries (Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Chile, France, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, the Republic of South Africa, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the United States of America) in Washington on December 1, 1959 and came into force in 1961. Poland became the Consultative Party in 1977, the Federal Republic of Germany in 1981, Brazil and India in 1983, the People's Republic of China and Uruguay in 1985, and Italy and the German Democratic Republic in 1987.

The Meeting noted that the Government of Peru had informed the Government of the Depositary State of its wish to have its notification examined after the 2nd Peruvian Scientific Antarctic Expedition, which is to be conducted between December 1988 and March 1989. The Meeting also noted that the Government of the Depositary State had received on September 7, 1988 a notification from the Government of Equador and that this notification and the accompanying documentation had been transmitted to the diplomatic missions of the Consultative Parties in Washington.